Facebook adds facial recognition software

Facebook is using facial recognition software to recognise you in photos your not tagged in.

Facebook is rolling out an update so it will now tell you if it thinks it has recognised you in a picture or video that nobody has tagged you in. 

To do this, facial recognition techniques compare the picture with your profile picture. and other pictures you are tagged in. You will only be told about pictures you can see based on the privacy settings of the poster. You will also be informed if a mutual friend of one of your friends uploads a photo and the image audience settings are set to everyone’.

Facebook will notify you if it's facial recognition software recognises you.

Image Source

Facebook is hoping that when you receive a notification that you have been recognised in an image you will then engage with that image and stay longer on the platform.

The technology is also going to be used to detect when other people use photos of you as their own profile picture.

You will be able to opt out of this in Settings > Timeline and Tagging

Have you been notified that a photo has been posted without you being tagged in it? How do you feel about this update? Do let us know in the comments section below.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please note this comment form uses 3 cookies to store your name, email address and (if you enter one) website address, simply so that you do not have to re-enter this information if you comment again.Using this form constitutes acceptance of these cookies. More cookie information on our Cookies Info page.