To do this, facial recognition techniques compare the picture with your profile picture. and other pictures you are tagged in. You will only be told about pictures you can see based on the privacy settings of the poster. You will also be informed if a mutual friend of one of your friends uploads a photo and the image audience settings are set to ‘everyone’.
Facebook is hoping that when you receive a notification that you have been recognised in an image you will then engage with that image and stay longer on the platform.
The technology is also going to be used to detect when other people use photos of you as their own profile picture.
You will be able to opt out of this in Settings > Timeline and Tagging
Have you been notified that a photo has been posted without you being tagged in it? How do you feel about this update? Do let us know in the comments section below.